Day 2 – 30 Day Literary Quote Challange

Day 2 – Favourite Non-Fiction Book

I am much more of a Fiction reader, but there is one, which I have spoken of before and returned to repeatedly.

Boy by Roald Dahl

Boy

This is the quote I chose;

An autobiography is a book a person writes about his own life and it is usually full of all sorts of boring details.

But there are other great ones, like this;

A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master excpet his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it.

For me the book is about home, I love his recollections of a Cardiff before my time and I love that his non-fiction is just as much fin to read as his fiction.  He led an interesting life, and this is just the first part!  There are some great stories, the sweet shop, his mother’s driving, Norway and boarding school, not all are nice but all are told so vividly you can feel them, smell them, you were there.

It feels nostalgic, bittersweet and it stays with you.

Leave a Reply

