Day 3 – Day 5 – Literary Quotes

Day 3 – Book you can’t finish.  Crime and Punishment,  We’ve been there, done that, discussed that, I can’t get through it.

Day 4 – Favourite Historical Book – Never read one, not my thing.  If someone could recommend a good one I would give it a go.  I tried Bring Up the Bodies (for a class) never finished it and could not believe it had so much praise and so many accolades!

Day 5 – Favourite Genre and Favourite Book from that genre.

Not strictly a genre, but many genres, I just love too much, but Science Fiction/Dystopia/Fantasy type things.

Dystopia is where my head is right now so I went with George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four.  I couldn’t pick one quote, I went with both the opening and closing lines.

I've had a few copies of this....this one has been in the Sea

I’ve just got a new copy as this one has been for a swim in the sea!

The opening sets the book up so perfectly;

It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.

And the close is one of the most heartbreaking lines in literature.

He loved Big Brother.

I love this book, almost everything in it is genius, the fact it has permeated the public consciousness so much that people use thoughts and phrases from it without even realising it shows its huge influence.

Leave a Reply

