Days 8 – 14 of my Literary Quotes Challenge

Ok, I know, I know, my new found dedication to doing this daily lasted no time at all but I am still here, I promise.  So here we go for a bulk update on my literary quotes challenge.

Day 8 – Favourite Author I had to think about this one a little, mainly as I have quite a few favourite authors, of many different times and styles of writing and many and varied genres.  In the end I went with a classic Edgar Allan Poe.  Again the quote and source material I used were equally classic, The Raven.

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing, Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before

I love Edgar Allan Poe, I think his style is fun and I love the morbid and dark themes he uses.  I don’t think there is a piece of work of his I do not like.  Although I always found The Murders in the Rue Morgue a bit disappointing, I guess oragutans aren’t as scary or exotic as they may have been back then?! Who knows.  Anyway, The Raven is a classic, even if you don’t like Poe, think you don’t know it or are not into poetry I promise if you look it up you’ll know it.  It is referenced everywhere, even the Simpsons did it!

Day 9 – A Guilty Reading Pleasure

The Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch

Now I always feel a bit bad calling something a guilty pleasure because I feel like it insinuates that the books or writing are poor, that is definitely not the case here, the books are great and I love them I love the progression and I cannot wait for the sixth book, The Hanging Tree, to be released in November.

The reason it is a guilty pleasure is due to the genre, Urban Fantasy, it sounds awful, a lot of it really is, I know we don’t judge books by their covers but honestly just do a quick scan of urban fantasy on goodreads and you will see what I am talking about.  A lot of it is utter trash.

When I’m considering this I find it helpful to quote the wisdom of my father, who once told me, ‘Who knows why the fuck anything happens?’

These books are funny, the police procedural side is really well handled and most importantly for me, despite the strong fantasy element here there is more on the urban and the connection with real London.  For me a lot of other examples of the genre are more heavily weighted in favour of the fantasy element and I love home Aaronovitch goes the other way.

Day 10 – A book that changed you in some way

This one is hard, I am really not sure I have an answer.  I will have to think about this and maybe get back to you one day!

Day 11 – Favourite book that actually successfully translated to the Big Screen

I have a feeling this may be controversial.  But for me Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban, I know the films lost a lot, characters and storylines that people loved, but I understand the need for this.  The reason this was so well done for me was al about casting, I was, and in fact am, totally utterly and fully in love with Sirius Black, I also happen to be in love with Gary Oldman…you can see where I am going with this I am sure!

Shame these names were never real used/discussed in the films though.

Mr. Moony presents his compliments to Professor Snape, and begs him to keep his abnormally large nose out of other people’s business.
Mr. Prongs agrees with Mr. Moony, and would like to add that Professor Snape is an ugly git.
Mr. Padfoot would like to register his astonishment that an idiot like that ever became a professor.
Mr. Wormtail bids Professor Snape good day, and advises him to wash his hair, the slimeball.

Day 12 – A book that made/makes you angry

Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

This book makes me far angrier than it should.  But it is so bad, and so poorly written.  Now this wouldn’t ordinarily make me mad, but it won so many awards.  I was really expecting something so good when I read this and it was so very bad and that really pissed me off.

Thurston grins. “Come out of a cave.  You know young Francis Weston?  He that waits on the king?  His people are giving out that you’re a Hebrew.’  He grunts; he’s heard that one before.  “Next time you’re at court,’ Thurston advises, ‘take your cock out and put it on the table and see what he says to that?

Day 13 – Book you never thought you’d like, but did

There are a lot of those!  I am terrible for judging before reading I am afraid, I try not to but I judge books by their cover all the time.

Maybe, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Not really anything to do with the book, more to do with the film, which I hadn’t seen, but it had Keira Knightley in it, now I am sure she is lovely, but dear lord she is an atrocious actress.

And I can still see it now, the shudder she seemed to be suppressing, the real dread that one of us would accidentally brush against her.

Day 14 – Favourite classic novel

I am a huge fan of the classics so I feel like this is both really easy and really hard.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

And we have to go with a classic.

In vain have I struggled.  It will not do.  My feelings will not be repressed.  You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.

SWOON!

Oh, Mr Darcy!!

Leave a Reply

