Days 15 &16 Literary Quotes

Day 15 – Book that represents who you are.

This is a bit melodramatic. I am not entirely sure there is a book that represents who I am per se.  Books may represent some of my thoughts or feelings and some aspects of my character and beliefs but I do not believe there is a book, that in its entirety could represent me.

So I will go with The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman, which has many philosophical thoughts and wonderings which often resonate with me.

Subtle Knife

For a human being, nothing comes naturally,’ said Grumman. ‘We have to learn everything we do.

Ideas on humanity, religion, life itself and all packaged up as a book for children/teenagers.  These books are a wonderful read, the series consisting, The Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass – together they are His Dark Materials.  I would genuinely recommend them to all child, adult, pixie.  They are wonderfully written and imagined.  Whatever you do avoid the god awful film adaptation of the first book The Golden Compass (the book’s American title) dire and amiss of all the magic and deep and clever thought of the books.

Day 16 – A Book From Your Childhood

There are of course a lot of those.

But this again is a obvious choice, George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl.

In all honesty this could be any book by Dahl, my Nan used to collect the tokens of Weetabix boxes and send them off to get the puffin classics of them for us, anyone else remember when they did these amazing promotions?

George didn’t say a word. He felt quite trembly. He knew something tremendous had taken place that morning. For a few brief moments he had touched with the very tips of his fingers the edge of a magic world.

Marvellous

I continually dreamed of creating my own marvellous medicine, of course not to use on my Grandmother, she was lovely, but the description of it the colours and smells and the addition of everything he could find was always such fun.  I’d have loved to do this as a child and it always, as with all of Dahl’s work, created lasting images.

Leave a Reply

