Days 17 & 18

Day 17 – A required reading in school book that you remember most fondly.

Again, there are a lot of books I remember vividly from being a young primary school child up until I finished at 18.  The Machine Gunners, Children of the Dust, Tom’s Midnight Garden.  Although fondly may be the incorrect term a book that has stayed with me the most vividly is Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden.  This book is the story of Carrie and her little brother Nick who are evacuated to Wales during WWII.

Sadly I do not have a copy of the book and cannot find much online so I cannot post a quote from it.  Druid’s Bottom is one of the elements I remember most vividly.  As a book for children it is well written and poignant and teaches a lot of lessons but I would recommend it to readers of any age.
Day 18 – A book that makes you smile.

I know, I know, I am repeating myself constantly but yet again there are a lot of these.  I am not sure what to go with, a lot that I have already used make me smile being some of my favourites but I am going to try to come up with something different.

I am going for Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen.  I only read this last year for a course, I don’t know why I had never read it before, I have read most Austen books repeatedly but had never even considered this one.  This, although published later, was one of Austen’s first pieces of writing, you can tell, but I don’t necessarily think that is a bad thing.  The style is very different and it is quite comic, a loving pastiche of Gothic novels which had gone before.  I think a lot of people are the same as me and despite being fans of Austen have not read this, as such I highly recommend giving it a go, it is a short read and well worth an afternoon.

Gothic

Till midnight, she supposed it would be in vain to watch; but then, when the clock had struck twelve and all was quiet, she would, if not quite appalled by darkness, steal out and look once more. The clock struck twelve – and Catherine had been half an hour asleep.

Leave a Reply

